Jennifer Holliday

Jennifer Yvette Holliday (born October 19, 1960) is an American actress and singer. Holliday started her career on Broadway in musicals such as Dreamgirls (1981–83), Your Arms Too Short to Box with God (1980–81) and later became a successful recording artist. She is best known for her debut single, the Dreamgirls number and rhythm-and-blues/pop hit, “And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going”, which won her a Grammy award for Best Female Performance, Rhythm & Blues in 1983. Holliday also won a 1982 Tony Award for Best Leading Actress in a Musical for Dreamgirls.

Linda A reviewer, whose identity was not known by late February 2011, wrote:

“Ms. Holliday’s performance and Simon’s long-term repertoire of gospel-influenced songbook (“Bridge,” “Gone At Last,” “Slip Sliding Away,” and “Loves Me Like A Rock” is the glue that holds the show together. Visually intriguing is the role reversal of a larger-than-life Jennifer Holliday and a waif-thin Luther Vandross. The music, however, is uniformly exciting, mesmerizing and sets the highest-of-high standard for gospel arrangements. You will seldom see a major gospel show without a musical reference to this concert’s arrangements.”

5 thoughts on “Jennifer Holliday”

  1. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website
    with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the
    information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Wonderful blog and great design.

    Like

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging
    to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.
    I must say you have done a excellent job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely quick for
    me on Internet explorer. Superb Blog!

    Like

  3. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed
    .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

    Like

Comments are closed.