Stanford University

Stanford just made tuition free for families earning less than $125,000 per year

Stanford University

  1. Stanford University will provide free tuition to parents of students who earn less than $125,000 per year — and if they make less than $65,000, they won’t have to contribute to room and board costs either.
  2. Students are still expected to pay $5,000 toward college costs from summer earnings and working part-time while enrolled in college.
  3. The announcement is an expansion of Stanford’s old financial aid policy, which previously applied to students from families making less than $100,000 per year.
  4. Most universities can’t afford to offer such generous financial aid to their students. But they could draw a lesson from the plan’s simplicity.

How Stanford’s financial aid works

If a student’s parents make less than $125,000 per year, and if they have assets of less than $300,000, excluding retirement accounts, the parents won’t be expected to pay anything toward their children’s Stanford tuition. Families with incomes lower than $65,000 won’t have to contribute to room and board, either.

Students themselves will have to pay up to $5,000 each year from summer earnings, savings, and part-time work. There’s no rule that parents can’t cover their students’ required contribution.

Stanford is much more generous toward middle-class and upper-middle class students than the federal government is. Most students who get subsidized loans and federal Pell Grants come from families making less than $60,000 per year. But it also enrolls an outsize proportion of wealthy students. In 2010, the university’s director of financial aid said the median family income at Stanford was around $125,000.

On the other hand, only 14 percent of entering freshmen got federal Pell Grants in 2012, which typically go to students from families making less than $50,000 per year. Nationally, 41 percent of undergrads received Pell Grants.

Stanford University graduates cheer for commencement speaker Oprah Winfrey during the 117th graduation on campus in Palo Alto, Calif., Sunday, June 15, 2008. (AP Photo/Ron Lewis) © Ron Lewis/AP Stanford University graduates cheer for commencement speaker Oprah Winfrey during the 117th graduation on campus in Palo Alto, Calif., Sunday, June 15, 2008. (AP Photo/Ron Lewis)

Why other colleges can’t do this — but what they can learn

Stanford enrolls a high proportion of wealthy students, who pay higher tuition that helps subsidize lower-income peers. And Stanford is one of the world’s richest universities, with an endowment of $21 billion.

On the other hand, there’s something that every college could emulate about Stanford’s policy: it’s incredibly simple and straightforward.

Middle-class students know even before they apply to Stanford what they’ll have to pay to attend, whether they’ll be able to afford it, and how much they’ll have to borrow. At most colleges, the amount a family is expected to pay doesn’t show up until after students have applied, been accepted, and filled out financial aid paperwork. That’s partly because many colleges are stretching their financial aid budgets and don’t know what they’re dealing with until students have been admitted.

But legislators are trying to make federal financial aid, at least, more transparent, by allowing students to use older tax data when filing the FAFSA. That would allow students to find out how much aid they qualify for up to a year before they start college. Researchers have proposed even earlier notification for students from poor families — letting them know as early as eighth grade that they could qualify for a federal Pell grant.

Most colleges can’t match Stanford’s generous financial aid commitment. But they could at least try to duplicate its simplicity.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/money/careersandeducation/stanford-just-made-tuition-free-for-families-earning-less-than-dollar125000-per-year/ar-AAakt3k?ocid=fbmsn

24 thoughts on “Stanford University”

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome blog!

    Like

  2. I think this is among the so much significant information for me.

    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should remark
    on few basic issues, The site style is great, the articles is truly great : D.
    Just right task, cheers

    Like

  3. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web address and thought I
    should check things out. I like what I see so
    now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

    Like

  4. I think what you said was actually very reasonable. But, what about this?
    suppose you added a little content? I mean, I don’t
    want to tell you how to run your website,
    but what if you added a headline to possibly grab people’s attention? I mean Stanford University | Dawn0834’s Blog is a little boring.
    You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines
    to grab viewers interested. You might try adding a video or a related
    pic or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it would make your posts
    a little bit more interesting.

    Like

  5. I’m curious to find out what blog system you’re
    working with? I’m experiencing some minor security problems with my latest blog and I’d
    like to find something more secure. Do you have any suggestions?

    Like

  6. Developed by Press Play, Max and the Magic Marker can keep you busy for hours drawing, scribbling and solving intricate puzzles.
    Computer system As well as video gaming console friendly variants of Angry Birds Cheats Hack at the moment
    are usually readily accessible, additionally.

    We finally concluded that it was because they don’t actually see what it is
    we do that would help them.

    Like

  7. Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do
    you require any html coding expertise to make your
    ownn blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  8. Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that
    this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me.

    Thanks, quite nice article.

    Like

  9. You need traffic, there are tutorials on how to generate traffic using the
    ‘free’ methods and also the ‘paid’ methods. Do you want to be stuck
    with shelves of olive green can openers or inflatable beach toys.
    So if you interested in ways of making money online via or not via e – Bay, then consider the kind
    of dropshipper you deal with.

    Like

  10. I feel some intestine movements Riky dance, Fabio feel some intestine movements Riky dance,
    Fabio feel some intestine movements and Peso has diharrea.
    Indeed, as protests began Sunday, there was a big, clean, riad in marrakech
    kniza reviews touristy affair with grizzled men playing traditional North African Sufi character,
    with its picture-book battlements that date to around 1150.

    Like

  11. The nurse did say, though, that if my hair loss doesn’t slow down within a few months, I should make an appointment to have my blood analyzed.
    While you are trying to prevent hair loss, be gentle with your hair.
    Having a green home does not mean you have to live with these pests.

    Like

  12. Good day I am so excited I found your web site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was looking on Google for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say
    cheers for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it
    and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the fantastic job.

    Like

  13. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I desire to read more things about it!

    Like

  14. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web site, and piece of writing is genuinely
    fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these types of content.

    Like

Comments are closed.