IN HONOR OF BLACK HISTORY MONTH 2015 Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC).


The Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) is an African-American civil rights organization. SCLC was closely associated with its first president, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The SCLC had a large role in the American Civil Rights Movement.
The best-known member of the SCLC was Martin Luther King, who was president and chaired the organization until he was assassinated on April 4, 1968. Other prominent members of the organization have included Joseph Lowery, Ralph Abernathy, Ella Baker, James Bevel, Diane Nash, Jesse Jackson, James Orange, Charles Kenzie Steele, C.T. Vivian, Fred Shuttlesworth, Walter E. Fauntroy, Claud Young, Septima Clark, Martin Luther King III, Dorothy Cotton, Curtis W. Harris, Hosea Williams, Maya Angelou, Andrew Young, and Golden Frinks.
• 1957–1968 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
• 1968–1977 Ralph Abernathy
• 1977–1997 Joseph Lowery
• 1997–2004 Martin Luther King III
• 2004 Fred Shuttlesworth
• 2004–2009 Charles Steele, Jr.
• 2009–2011 Howard W. Creecy, Jr.

• 2012–present Charles Steele, Jr.